TILLMANS

Below are my favourite Tillmans DSC_0835DSC_0836DSC_0837DSC_0838DSC_0840DSC_0859DSC_0861DSC_0862DSC_0863DSC_0867DSC_0870DSC_0872DSC_0876DSC_0877DSC_0879DSC_0881DSC_0889

I was very impressed by the Tillmans exhibition. I was inspired by the way in which he took photos of almost anything; there was no strict guidelines. His work engages with themes of community and sociability, empathy and vulnerability.

All of the works had been created since 2003; at time at which global events prompted Tillmans to address different series of political and social concerns in his work. Around the 2000’s he also started to address different sets of political and social concerns in his work. These are subtly addressed, however, there was a room with numerous tables set out with masses of sheets of papers printed with research laid out in a documentary way. I think this is an interesting way to raise awareness about issues and if I am to be looking into raising awareness for an issue in my next topic, this could be a way by which to do so.

I feel like I haven’t quite finished looking into what I am looking into; I feel like I was never completely certain what it was that I was looking into but that I work  much better when I do, so perhaps I should make a mindmap to get the ball rolling to find an area of interest, talk to people and see what comes from it.

My favourite image is the image of a group of people sitting down in a red tinted room with the mirrors. I like this because it is so atmospheric. This goes well with the photo of the two men lying back on the green moss. Human connection. In the booklet, it highlights his interest in social life and our participation in society; “we are all vulnerable, and our well-being depends upon knowing that we are not alone in the world”. He refers to clubs as places which emphasise the importance of places where people can go to feel safe, included and free. The orange in the photo creates a warmness and the scratches on the mirror create a wornness to the environment; there is a comfort in shabbiness; the feeling that people have been there in a carefree way so as create accidental damage. Observing human behaviour is a common interest in photography, so the tables with sheets of psychological research is very fitting. Perhaps I could include in my brain-storm mindmap some psychological research.

Texture and colour was also a common element in Tillmans work. I was very drawn to  photograph of someone cutting a squid-like sea creature with a large knife, because it was repulsive yet attractive at the same time. the colours and textures and details were very attractive yet the understanding of what it is was repelling and uncomfortable.

I have been trying to work out the concept behind his works, as they are very vague; what determined the closing o the shutter? But he says he describes his works are scientific evidence of natural processes, which is intersting. thus, it fits that it was put with the psychological evidence i.e. the psychology behind lying.

below is an article on why self deception can be good for you:

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-new-resilience/201302/why-self-deception-can-be-healthy-you

lying is a social issue, thus relating to his interest in social lives.

I suppose using these documents turns the exhibition into a kind of educational experience. so hee is raising awareness for social issues. however, the fact he got it from so many sources shows conflicting results, thus relating to the idea of lies and how far we should believe what we are told. laying them out as he did legitimises them yet they contradict each other, so they are a collection of reserach for the photographer, conducting his own experiment.

Leave a Reply

